BES Express and FaceBook (cannot connect to contacts/calendar)

Home Forums Questions and Answers BES Express and FaceBook (cannot connect to contacts/calendar)

This topic contains 9 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  beckman3 4 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

Derek Brown
    Participant

Last night I uninstalled BPS (BESX refuses to install if it finds BPS or BES), wiped my handheld (because of the differing IT Policy, this appears to be a required step if you are already on a BES/BPS), installed BES Express, and activated my handheld. Everything looks fine, but the only new feature (well, new to BPS users) I have tried thus far is HTML email, which works great.

I am new to BES 5.0, so the web administration and web desktop manager are new to me, but they seem pretty straightforward. What I am having trouble with is where I make the IT Policy changes needed for FaceBook contact/calendar integration (Disable Organizer Data Access for Social Networking Applications). Anyone know if this is possible in BES Express? Im guessing this falls under Scenario 3 or 4 here: http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/search.do?cmd=displayKC&docType=kc&externalId=KB18427

I tried looking at the XML file that is used to add this to BES 4.1.X and manually creating an IT policy with a name of Disable organizer data access for social networking applications, Type of Boolean, and Destination of Handheld, but after setting the value to No, resending the IT Policy, and uninstalling/reinstalling FaceBook, these options are still grayed out for me.

Any of you BES(X) gurus know how to let this enhanced functionality of the FaceBook application work on BES Express?

techtiger

Social Networking is not supported in BES Expres mate,

Very few IT policies restricts this functionality.

Derek Brown
    Participant