Over the years some of us have run into the issue of sending a BBM message or picture to the wrong person or writing the wrong thing. Some have discovered a quick hack for this but I thought I would mention it since Caspan brought it up to me again. He actually wrote up how you can try to delete a message before (and even after) someone reads it on BBM by deleting the contact. This might not remove the record if they have it backing up the conversation but its worth a shot in a pinch.
Check out the instruction Caspan wrote up below from his site:
We have all done it at one point in time, were busy or distracted and we sent a message to the wrong BBM contact. This kind of thing normally causes confusion or people to send you back a few ???? because the message was not meant for them. This is typical of the live we live in now. and is almost expected. But what happens when you send a very private or personal message to the wrong person? What if you send a very embarrassing picture to the wrong contact? With BBM the second you see that grey check mark you are about out of options. There is the option of finding them driving to their location, grab their phone and delete the message before they can read it! Most likely that option is a not going to happen you have to wait for the dreaded green R to show up and wait for the “WTH!!!” message back. This is very embarrassing and could even cost you your job if sent to a business associate.
So how do we get retract a message that has not been read so you can save yourself the embarrassment? Simple delete the contact that you sent the message to. It is that simple, when you delete a contact off BBM you are saying I don’t want to contact them so they can’t contact me and you are removed from their BBM list….. including all you history and any unread messages. Now this is not a perfect secret method of doing this but I would rather come up with an excuse as to why I deleted them then deal with the embarrassment of them seeing a private picture. If they are a friend you could tell them the truth and the would most likely laugh you would readd each other and you can breath a sign of relief.
Now this method works the same even if they did see the message, at that point the damage has been done but if it was a photo then you have to worry did they save it or could they re-share it. If you delete the contact fast enough before they can think to save it or resend it then it will prevent them doing anything else.
Hopefully you will never need to use this but it is always good to know you have a choice if something did ever happen. Just another tool to add to your tool belt and I hope it saves you some day!