Forgot your password?

FAQ: What Does Granting “Trusted Application” Status Mean?

trustedstatus Awhile back RIM introduced a new prompt after you download an application that asks if you want to grant the application “Trusted Application” status. I have always wondered what the hell that means and the knowledgeable Brian Z. has finally answered my question on the RIM Developers Blog. Brain says the prompt only started with OS 4.6+ but I remember getting it on my 8310…

The following are the scenarios that can happen at this dialog box:

If you select Yes and grant “Trusted Application" status:

Commonly needed permissions will be granted to the application and all permissions will be set to Allow except for:

  • Prompt – Recording, Security Timer Reset
  • Deny – Input Simulation, Browser Filtering, Display Information While Locked

If you select No and are connected to a BES server:

All permissions are set to “Allow” with the exception of:

  • Prompt – Recording, Phone, Location Data, Server Network, Internet
  • Deny – Browser Filtering, Input Simulation, Security Timer Reset, Display Information While Locked

If you select No and are not connected to a BES server:

All permissions are set to “Allow” with the exception of:

  • Prompt – Recording, Phone, Location Data
  • Deny – Browser Filtering, Input Simulation, Security Timer Reset, Display Information While Locked

Brian goes into further detail for developers and how to handle these prompts. Good reading if you develop BlackBerry apps.

1 comment on this postSubmit your comment!
  1. Brian (or is it Brain, as above?) is mistaken. I have an 8830 running 4.5.0.160, and I see this prompt when I see this prompt all the time. I’ve never clicked Yes to any of them, mostly because I didn’t know what all it entailed…

1 pingback on this post

BlackBerry© is a registered Trademark of BlackBerry Limited. BerryReview is in no way affiliated with BlackBerry Limited though sometimes their lawyers send us love letters...

Copyright © 2007-‘2016’ BerryReview LLC