Forgot your password?

Tips & Tricks: Delete Your Info From Your BB Before Selling It Or Throwing It Away

Most of you BB addicts out there probably swap or upgrade  your blackberry constantly as new models come out or any other phone in particular and what you usually end up doing is either selling it or handing it down to some one.  Well what if you were someone very important per-say running a presidential campaign you wouldn’t want important information in the wrong hands. Many of you have probable seen how easy a reporter picked up a Blackberry for $20.00 at a McCain campaign yard sale with a ton of private information. If you haven’t check out this video after the jump: video link .

There are many ways to wipe your BB one of the easiest way to erase your data is by doing it through your BB menu.

Fist go to options and click on security options

081215194527

Second go to general settings click on it

081215194658

Then once your in general settings hit menu and choose wipe handheld

081215194734

once you have done this it will give you a warning that it will loose all data which is what you want specially if your selling the device or trading it, which ever you want to make sure you at least erase all your information from the device.

081215194754

The other way to wipe your device is to use your computer using soft ware such as using JL cmder to completely nuke the device and you can also use Blackberry master control to upload a new OS and this also has links to other helpful websites as well. To read more about JL Cmder follow thr LINK . Remember you don’t want some one getting a hold of your private information so make sure you always wipe any device you sell or trade.  If you have any other tips please about this leave your comments below. Blackberry is probably by far the safest device out there but you don’t want to make a move like these guys did with the presidential  race information landing in the wrong hands.

1 comment on this postSubmit your comment!
  1. Hi,

    Was just wondering whether the phone will be unlocked and restored to its initial factory condition once the wipe out is carried out? Do I need to unlock the phone again?

    Cheers

1 pingback on this post

BlackBerry© is a registered Trademark of BlackBerry Limited. BerryReview is in no way affiliated with BlackBerry Limited though sometimes their lawyers send us love letters...

Copyright © 2007-‘2016’ BerryReview LLC