Forgot your password?

“Delay” Erase Data and Disable Handheld

This may be known amongst the hardened BES Admin’s that use this feature more than I actually need to but I see that BlackBerry Enterprise Server Service Pack 6 has an interesting new update to Erase Data and Disable Handheld. It seems as the they have changed this to allow a Delay of the Kill Command as well as the option to allow for the User to terminate the Wipe, I at no point noticed this on Service Pack 5 so only believe this to be a Service Pack 6 change.



As a BES Admin working for a Mobile Solution Company myself this is an interesting change, understanding the possible reason’s around needing to have this Delay as an option, the whole idea around this is that in the event of a stolen or lost device it should be applied immediately upon notification to the BES Admin. I can only think that in a less of an Emergency case such as training days, conferences, etc this maybe set as a task to run at the end of the day.

2 total comments on this postSubmit your comment!
  1. That was available in BES 4.1.5, too

  2. Thanks, I was not sure on the Final release of SP5 as we used an earlier release fo SP5 which I definately did not see this updated Feature.

BlackBerry© is a registered Trademark of BlackBerry Limited. BerryReview is in no way affiliated with BlackBerry Limited though sometimes their lawyers send us love letters...

Copyright © 2007-‘2016’ BerryReview LLC